Foodie Journey: Sweet Potato Curry

This morning, my boyfriend mentioned about workout and daily meals. He prefers to have light dinners because during a day, he has eaten a lot of fruits and snacks at work, or even before his workout. With an Asian background, I am not sure about light dinners; if it is in small portions or it is vegetarian. After sharing his thoughts, I am trying now to work on those ideas and see how things go.

For dinner today, I make sweet potato curry as a vegetarian meal. Quick cooking (less than 30 minutes included preparation). Meat free. Butter free. Cow milk free.

I prefer not to care about how much calories are in dishes. I do not like to track and put myself away from delicious food. I do workout in return to burn those calories.

Ingredients

  1. Sweet potato (chopped into bite-size cubes)
  2. Peas
  3. Baby carrots
  4. Onion (finely chopped)
  5. Coconut milk or vegetable stock

Spices

  1. Ground garlic
  2. Ground ginger
  3. Ground turmeric
  4. Curry powder
  5. Chili flakes
  6. Vegetable oil
  7. Salt

Method

  1. Saute over medium heat: vegetable oil, sweet potatoes, baby carrots and peas for 5 minutes
  2. Put those saute mixture on one bowl. Put onion, garlic, ginger, chili flakes, turmeric, curry powder on that saucepan. Stir and cook them for 5 minutes.
  3. Return saute mixture to the saucepan. Add coconut milk. Stir well and bring to a simmer. Add water if the curry looks too dry. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

Depending on how much curry liquid you would like to have, more or less water can be added.

This curry dish is suitable for vegetarians, pregnancy, children over 5 year old and ideal for dieters.

17587348_1797762370544770_1861760123999879168_n

Sweet potato curry – Taken by Angela Worldtrekker

I got a recipe of sweet potato curry with lentils and customized it for our dinner. You can find more recipes from 100 Best Health Foods.

That recipe is only for my personal experiments. If you want a proper and detailed one, please check Youtube or Google 🙂

2 thoughts on “Foodie Journey: Sweet Potato Curry

  1. Here it would be carrots and not sweet potato. Also in America we never eat the leaves or greens of sweet potatoes, yet in the Philippines they cook the sweet potato leaves just like you would cook spinach and I did eat it one time when an Uncle who had spent time in the Philippines in WWII wanted to try it so he cooked some from his garden and it was the same as eating spinach. My time spent in Vietnam I did not eat a lot of local dishes but I did like the seafood or the shrimps which was coming from the BaSac river and sold cooked as shrimp fried rice in Can THo. Other than that I always saw locals preparing Fish or Duck or other foul . Of course now the food supply is much better and lots of it, so very nice to see the country healed and flourishing again with lots of food and housing for everyone. Places that I once flew over and was nothing but jungle is now nothing but agriculture and new life. I like that

    • For sure, you can make potato curry. Sweet potatoes can be replaced for normal potatoes. I do not eat sweet potato leaves and always remove sweet potatoes’s skin while cooking them 🙂

Tell me what you think...

