Zenit ET 89 – My first SLR camera

I had a long time research before I bought my first DSLR camera – Nikon D40. It was kinda fun that I did not spend that much time to look into SLR cameras until I bought one a month ago.

A coworker of mine lent me his SLR camera and said I could try to use it. I brought it around Saigon and Can Tho to take some photos. We waited to see how they looked like after they were developed. Everything turned out pretty well. I really like the colors. I know there are so many things I need to learn to have more better photos.

So then, hey welcome myself to SLR world 🙂

Some photos of my Zenit ET 89 and its tele lens – Info is from http://camerapedia.wikia.com/wiki/Zenit_ET

Зенит = Zenit means Zenith that is the point in the sky that appears directly above the observer in astronomy or may mean the highest point.

>> Shutter: Horizontaly travelling, cloth focal-plane shutter, speeds 1/30,1/60, 1/125, 1/250,1/500, +B(Bulb)

>> Aperture: f/2 – f/16, setting dial and ring on the lens

Zenit ET is a 35mm film SLR camera manufactured by Vileiskiy Zavod Zenit, near Minsk, former USSR,

produced between 1982-1993 with quantity 3.000.000

View from the top of Zenit ET 89

Zenit ETs also exist without aperture automation and without a built-in meter. They offered various finish materials and colours like silver, black, or bronze. This camera is an attempt to modernize the Zenit EM.

Initially it looked just like an EM with new lettering, with new designs on the dials.

I got another tele lens – Pentacon auto 2.8/135 MC

Zenit ET 89 body and Pentacon lens

Back of Zenit ET 89

And coming along with Zenit ET 89 is a small leather bag.

A set! I look like a photojournalist now, I think 😀

Tell me what you think...

