Paper-Work for my Visa to EU – Austria

Oh OK, I meant to write about my Hong Kong trip but I cant wait to “moan” about how complicated and time-consumed of applying visa to Austria, EU.

I contacted a visa agency in Saigon and according to my friend, they are good. I did have them done my visa to Hong Kong though since it took too long and I could not wait until that date.

Let’s start with official info I found on Austrian Embassy’s website.

Visa I will apply is Visa C as following

The C visa permits entry into the Schengen area and a maximum stay of three months in a period of six months beginning with the first entry into the Schengen states.

The visa category C is used for the following purposes of the application:

  • Tourist Travel: that my main purpose of the trip
  • Business
  • Travel due to an invitation from friends, acquaintances or family members
  • Travel as part of an internship
  • Transit through the territory of Austria

Next, which document should I need for visa document being applied in Austrian Embassy in Ha Noi. I could not find the link on the website any more. Sucks.

I checked the MBI – (Ministry of Interior) website and found info for my sponsor, which seems easier for him to get his sponsor’s doc done

“Private invitation, bring the following documents:
Identity document, registration form, appropriate proof of income, lease, or similar, if there is evidence of existing care duties, credits or similar as well as documents relating to the relationship with the visa applicants.”

The Schengen area currently includes in addition to Austria the following (24) European countries:

  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Czech Republic
  • Hungary
I’ll try again to find the list of doc that Austrian Embassy in Ha Noi asking for Vietnamese passport and update in this post.
Now, it is time to look at what one of visa service agencies told me. I appreciated that he spent time replying my questions in detailed quickly. Yet, I am still confused and not sure if I understand them all.
According to his reply, he needs documents from both sides Viet Nam and Austria. I obviously need a sponsor who can be a friend, a company, or an organization. I have a great friend offering being the sponsor for me.
Austrian side:
1/ Invitation letter (I did not think there was a format but there is!) Not an interesting and emotional invitation letter as I thought.
2/ Scanned passport sent via email
3/ All document showing he is an employed Austrian person such as Identity document, registration form, appropriate proof of income, lease, or similar
4/ Proof of the sponsor and visa applicant’s relationship – which is a FRIENDSHIP: a scanned version of visa to Cambodia/Philippines – (as I told him that we met in Cambodia last Feb and prob in PI this May. Pretty funny for me. I do not need visa to Cambodia or PI. Also, it is pretty for us to scanned those visas and entry stamps because we traveled to 2 countries at the same time.)
Note: according to Austrian Embassy’s website, all doc can be e-doc and sent directly from my sponsor to Austrian Embassy in Ha Noi, Viet Nam
This info needs to be checked again.
Vietnamese side:
1/ Labor contract (certified copied version)
2/Salary statement
3/ Absence permit letter
4/ Saving account statement (min at 100mil VND)
6/ Household resident book  (certified copied version)
Plus: my land/house certification and my company’s certified business registration. Two last ones are ridiculous to me.
7/Passport (original) AND 2 photos
8/Flight ticket to Austria
9/ Hotel room reservation
10/ Travel Insurance
11/ Birth Certification (certified copied version)
After handing him all doc, he will apply them to Austrian Embassy in Ha Noi. I will pay 60EU for visa application fee. If everything goes well, I will have a visa interview in person in Ha Noi. If I have my luck, I can have visa to Austria in 14 days and the visa will valid within 3 months before the date I actually enter Austria.
I suppose I will apply my visa application this Sep.
Note: Visa service fee is 350USD, no refund. Oh, if I fail in my interview and non false from them and me, they will refund 200USD
Gosh. All seem so long and hard. Anyway I promised to give it a try.
My friend who visited Italy many times told me to follow Austrian Embassy’s procedure and no need to use visa service. Wish me luck!
To-do list for this month and May is
– to renewal my passport,
– to write an absence letter,
– to fill money to my bank account seriously.
Good Info

Embassy of Austria in Hanoi, Vietnam

c/o ‘Prime Center’

53, Quang Trung, 8. Floor

Hai Ba Trung District

Hanoi, Vietnam

Tell me what you think...

