Cambodia Day 9: A Like-Riding-A-Horse Bus and Being A Local in Phnom Penh

Highlight spot of today was to have two meals (one lunch and one dinner; plus a small dessert) with 5,000R. Awesome!

Let’s get back to the morning of today. I have to admit that I have easily got upset recently. I think there are enough reasons for my bad feelings :P. After the sleepless night in Siem Reap (reasons? please read the previous post for details), I was ready to get back Phnom Penh. We (Dmar, E and I) took a free tuk-tuk from Maeng’s G.H to Siem Reap Bus Terminal (the Chong Kov Sou bus station is located near Phsar Leu (the ‘Upper Market’) a couple of kilometers west of town center.), 15mins away from the downtown. Our tuk-tuk driver was Sinat again. Our bus tickets said the departure time was 7:00AM. The bus actually left Siem Reap at 8:10AM. One hour waiting at a busy dirty bus terminal without any explanation. Later, I found out that we had to wait for other “stupid drunk” young tourists to fill up the bus. Anyway, the bus left – that’s the point 🙂 By the way, the name of the bus company is Paramount Bus Company as I remembered.

Plus, there was an annoying French man who could not remember where he kept his bus ticket. He kept talking to Dmar about his seat change, about a guy kept his bus ticket, bla bla bla… Oh well, I guessed that was his first trip to Cambodia or even his first trip out of France. Never ever give the your ticket or any valuable things to strangers – a very basic lesson for every travelers.

We had a very back seat – from my right side, there were Dmar and 2 other Filipino mates and from my left side was E. The road is so bumpy so that we felt as if we were riding a horse for 5 hours. I managed to close my eyes and get some sleep; which was not that successful. During the trip, I was awake sometimes and got a chance to see the landscape along the way. It was pretty much like that in Viet Nam’s countryside. The National Road #6, I believe, is narrow, dusty and bumpy. It is way better than that a couple of years ago though. Anyway, when the bus arrived at Phnom Penh, I told myself: “it’s really done – I am still alive!”.

Next time if I make a bus trip again, I will go with Phnom Penh Sorya Transport

PP Station: Near the southwest corner of Phsar Thmey. Tel: 023-210359
SR Station: Chong Kov Sou Bus Station (Near Phsar Leu)

Fare: 16,000R/pax ~ 4USD – you might get this fare right at the bus terminal. If you buy through your hotel or travel agencies, they can add 4-5USD more.

Departure Schedule: Phnom Penh to Siem Reap – 7:00, 7:45, 8:45, 11:30, 12:45, 13:45

Departure Schedule: Siem Reap to Phnom Penh – 7:00, 7:15, 8:30, 12:30, 13:30

Only one bad thing about this bus company – will be listed on my next post 😛

We arrived at Phnom Penh around 2:30PM. We took a tuk-tuk to Dmar’s hotel to grab his bags and head to Nomads Guesthouse (#89, St. 108, Phnom Penh) – which is kind-of a dorm with shared bathroom with cold water and dorm with fan. It is 4.50USD/bed in the dorm. We paid 2USD for the tuk-tuk from Paramount Bus Company to the final destination. The tuk-tuk driver tried to let us believe him that Nomads was a very expensive place for a dorm, something like 15USD/night. Hello!!?!? I am not an idiot. Do not try to pool me. I replied him that we made a reservation at Nomads already. Then, he stopped talking about other places. One way I learnt to be away from annoying tuk-tuk or xe om drivers that we already had a place or we knew where we wanted to go to. I know that it is their way to earn daily money but please, do no think we are stupid tourists.

I laid down a bit and started to wander in the new part of Phnom Penh. I walked through the Old Market; observed people selling and buying stuffs. I got a bag of rice and egg costing 1,000R and then I got a very local dessert: steamed banana with coconut milk and tapioca (chuoi hap nuoc cot dua) – 1,000R. That was all for my lunch 🙂 I enjoyed my lunch on the Tonle Sap River’s river bank. It was windy and the sunset was great. I talked to my travel buddy Dmar a bit and we walked along the park together.

We was a bit eager for a weekly CS meeting in Phnom Penh, hoping to meet and talk to some other travelers. I got a quick shower and applied bug repellent and ready! We walked to the Local 2 Pub where the meeting was hosted. It is not that hard to find as people told me. On the way there, I stopped by at a very local food stall and tried their food. I ordered a dish of chicken and long green bean and a dish of rice, costing 3,000R. O gosh! Lunch, Dessert and Dinner costed me 5,000R ~1USD something. I was full – hardly to move my legs 😛

I was a bit disappointed for the CS meeting. It was my personal reason: I did not feel I belonged to the group. I was there for around 45min-1hr and headed out. Dmar and I tried to find Blue Pumpkin for our b-fast but our mission failed. Instead, we had a long good walk — haha also went through Phnom Penh’s “red-light” area. We had a nice chat-chit with some travelers at Nomads before I went to sleep 🙂

It was a good night in Phnom Penh – my last night in Cambodia. Bad and good experience in one day was not that bad at all. I enjoyed. I looked at positive sides of everything and cheer myself up. They call “c’est la vie!” and it is true 🙂

2 thoughts on “Cambodia Day 9: A Like-Riding-A-Horse Bus and Being A Local in Phnom Penh

  1. Good summary of the day. Sorry about your bad feelings. Please let me know if it’s ever my fault, or if there’s anything I can do to help 🙂

    I didn’t really belong at the CS meeting either, although I put serious effort into talking with people and learning about them. Maybe we have a different perspective on life. Maybe I just didn’t ask the right questions.

    I’m amazed by the two meals you had! I went to a restaurant near the riverbank, and it cost $2 just for a pot of green tea. If I go again, I will try to have more local street food. Chicken and long green beans sounds delicious.

Tell me what you think...

