Cambodia Day 7: Cooking Day

One more interesting day again for my Siem Reap trip.

Nikki, CS Amb in Sieam Reap, hosted a cooking course at her family-in-law in a village of Pouk Dist – around 13km away from Siem Reap. There are 5 of us (CSers) plus Nikki and Ben. Nikki and Ben had their motorbike while the rest took a tuk-tuk (2usd/person/round trip for group of 5). Her family-in-law was very nice to us. It was my first time exploring a real local Khmer family.

We learned to cook four dishes 1/ sour soup with morning glories; 2/ lok lak beef; 3/ Khmer-style spring rolls (with a special receipt by Nikki’s mother-in-law) and 4/ pumpkin custard.

Details of those dishes will be updated later on a different post about Khmer food 😀

We had a great time, talking, preparing food and cooking it. 🙂 I love cooking!

Then, we headed back to Siem Reap. I taught Elliot 30min-Vietnamese lesson before I went out with Dmar and other CSers I met today at Nikki’s.

I run out of US and R money now. To get 2 bus tickets getting back from Siem Reap to HCMC and some food on the way, I work in return. It is a very new and interesting traveling experience for me. Very challenge. Working and Traveling at the same seem hard. I will give it a try for this trip. I believe I can handle it.

Bus from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh (a sleeper one): 9usd/person

Bus from Phnom Penh to HCMC (a regular bus): 10-12usd/person

Meals: at least 5usd

One thought on “Cambodia Day 7: Cooking Day

Tell me what you think...

