South East Asia Outline

South East Asia Map

South East Asia Map

Some information I got


Southeast Asia consists of two geographic regions: the Asian mainland, and island arcs and archipelagoes to the east and southeast.

The mainland section consists of Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam and Malaysia (or to be more precise, Peninsular Malaysia).

The maritime section consists of Brunei, East Timor,[1] Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Singapore.


Definitions of “Southeast Asia” vary, but most definitions include the area represented by the countries:


  • Indonesia – the giant, the largest archipelagic country in the world, with more than 18,000 islands
  • Laos – the forgotten, but growing, country of South-East Asia, landlocked by Cambodia, China, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam
  • Malaysia – multicultural country covering the skyscrapers of KL and the jungle headhunters of Borneo
  • Myanmar (Burma) – military dictatorship open to the adventurous traveller
  • Philippines – freewheeling former Spanish and American colony with over 7,100 islands and beautiful tropical beaches
  • Singapore – clean and orderly island-city state
  • Thailand – the most popular destination in the region
  • Vietnam – firmly marching down the long road to capitalism

Let’s check them out!


Tell me what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s