2 Weekends for Family

Since I got back from our vacation, I spent 2 weeks for my families (father’s and mother’s side). I feel very cozy to get together with my relatives. Sometimes, I think there is a distance between us. Physical distance and Emotional distance as well.

I have not been in touch with them much enough. They think I am busy at work, travelling and hanging out with my friends. I think they are busy as well. However, somehow I feel that I cannot find things to talk to them besides stuffs related to the families. I do think a family bond is very important. I try to maintain it as much as I can.

To start my family week was my Uncle 3’s 60th birthday and my Grandpa’s death anniversary in Vinh Long

Uncle 3 cut his b-day cake

My second weekend was for my nephew’s 1st birthday in O Mon, Can Tho. That was the biggest birthday party I’ve ever attended.
MinMin, a CS friend from Singapore, joined me in 2 day 1 night. We had a lot of fun together with my relatives. In late afternoon of Saturday, we took 2 buses from Can Tho to O Mon and from O Mon to Co Do. Then, we helped my relatives make ‘Chè Trôi Nước’ – Sticky Rice Dumplings with Caramel Ginger Syrup

Making che troi nuoc

Making che troi nuoc

1000 balls

1000 balls

MinMin was shaving the dry coconut

MinMin shaved dry coconuts

Preparing rice flour

Preparing rice flour

Place a mung bean ball in the center and enclose with the entire filling

Place a mung bean ball in the center and enclose with the entire filling

Rolling Balls

Rolling Balls

Balls

Balls

Boiling Balls

Boiling Balls

Sticky Rice Dumplings with Caramel Ginger Syrup

Sticky Rice Dumplings with Caramel Ginger Syrup

We made xoi – sticky rice as well. I love it a lot, but I did not eat much because it was so hot and I was a bit tired 😛 Besides these sweet food, we had grilled pork (a whole pig grilled in a hand-made stove in front of the village), ducks for curry and porridge and chickens for salad and other different meals. That was a feast indeed.

Sticky Rice - 10kg

Sticky Rice - 10kg

Removing Duck  Feather

Removing Duck Feather

52kg Pig - Uncooked

52kg Pig for the party

Before Grilling

Before Grilling

Checking the Heat

Checking the heat

Grilling the Pig

Putting the pig in the stove

A Grilled Pig

A Grilled Pig

1st B-day Cake

1st B-day Cake

Time to Pick up

Time to Pick Up

This is a custom – a child will pick up one random thing which is believed to tell what the child will do in the future. Sounds unreal but fun to me. I do not remember which on I chose on my 1st B-day 😛

Yeah, I got stethoscope!

Yeah, I got stethoscope!

Tell me what you think...

